Curriculum Structure

Undergraduate/bachelor programme (2014-2019 DCE curriculum) is divided into 2 stages: 1. preparatory stage with load of 36 credits (conducted in 2 semesters), and 2. undergraduate stage with load of 108 credits (6 semesters). The total 144 credits of programme (48 subjects) consist of 45 compulsory subjects (132 credits) and 3 elective subjects (12 credits). The compulsory subjects consist of compulsory subjects in preparatory stage, major compulsory subjects including final projects and project works, and supporting/interdiscipline subjects. In preparatory stage, compulsory subjects include fundamental science and engineering subjects which support DCE curriculum, and soft skill subjects which are taught in all faculties based on institutional curriculum (ITS curriculum). In preparatory stage, the programme focuses on developing generic skills and knowledge. Thus, soft skill subjects are designated to prepare and equip the first year students with academic professional ethic and attitudes. The generic skill and knowledge of student is then strengthened in undergraduate stage by completing supporting subjects. Therefore, 34.7% of subjects in the programme is designed to develop generic skills and knowledge, while 65.3% of subjects is structured to develop specialised skill and knowledge (Major compulsory, elective courses and final projects).

Major compulsory subjects are categorized into 5 core modules, i.e., Structures, geotechnics, transportation, hydrotechnics and project management. While supporting/interdiscipline subjects are land surveying, computer programmeming and application, civil engineering drawing, engineering mathematics, statistic for civil engineering, system modeling for civil engineering. Minimum 3 out of 24 elective subjects can be taken by students start from semester 5 to support final project topic of interest (classification of elective subjects related to the final project topic). These elective courses allow students to attend classes in accordance with their needs to support their specialised skills and knowledge. The course structures in a bachelor programme is summarized in Table below.

Table Summary of Course Structure

Curriculum Map of DCE

An educational system is expressed by Semester Credit System (Sistem Kredit Semester – SKS), which is defined as a system of education with semester credit units (credits) to state  loads of students, lecturers, and programme implementations per week. One credit is defined as 50 minutes’ lecture, 50-100 minutes structured academic activities, and 50-100 minutes independent learning activities. Semester is a unit of time for teaching and learning activities, equal to 16 (sixteen) weeks of classes or other scheduled activities including evaluation. Summary of programme related to course credits and level of studies are presented in Table below.

Resume of Programme

Comments are closed.